The Turk

Standard

For those who have read my profile and/or initial post it may have become apparent that my husband, aka the Turk, is not from the UK.  Unsurprisingly he’s Turkish (hence the name) so I thought I’d take this opportunity to preempt any of the questions (yes seriously) I get asked when people find out I’m married to a Turk:

  1.  No I did not meet him at a bar in Turkey
  2. There was no holiday romance, we met in London at work
  3. No he is not my mail order groom
  4. He did not offer any camels in exchange for my hand in marriage
  5. Yes, major culture difference
  6. I do love kebabs it’s true
  7. He supports Galatasaray (which oddly my computer keeps trying to autocorrect to Taramasalata…my favourite food!)
  8. Yes he speaks English
  9. No, I don’t speak Turkish
  10. No, my inlaws don’t speak English or live in the UK
  11. I realise that the above means I am indeed lucky

It’s an odd thing actually now that we have a child, there’s always been a culture difference (just compare the Turks idea of a good breakfast; a variety of cheese, bread, eggs and green peppers, with mine; full English – extra hash browns and bacon with brown sauce) but this is highlighted when it comes to child-rearing (more on this in a later post).  I often catch myself thinking about what Jem will be like when he grows up, a little bilingual boy with parents who can’t agree on a holiday destination or type of sausage.  I hope that he takes the best from both cultures and fortunately we live in a very multi-ethnic part of London so hopefully he won’t feel out of place when he goes to school, our little Turklish boy!

2 thoughts on “The Turk

  1. Kim Carberry

    “He did not offer any camels in exchange for my hand in marriage” Do people really ask that….lol hahaha You have a very lucky little boy getting to have the best of both cultures x

    Like

I'm very nosy and I'd love to know what you think?

