What’s with the white shorts…?

Standard

Do you remember my blog post about pre-holiday clothes shopping?

What do you mean no…?

Ok so here it is, now go away, read it and come back…

done?

Right so, white shorts, super cute!  I did worry about the practicality of these but duly packed them away ready for our trip.  I decided against putting them on in the hotel, because I quickly discovered that Jem’s desire to crawl around constantly meant that pretty much everything got grubby, and as it was his best outfit I wanted to save it.

Consequently when we were going out with the family for our first Sunday at my inlaws I proudly put on his new outfit.  I remember what happens in Turkey when it comes to poo (read here if you don’t!) so I also packed a spare outfit (cue smug grin on my face).  Naturally we enter a shopping centre and just as I am checking out some serious jewellery potential purchases the Turk pulls a face…

We head off to a changing room, despite the shock that a man entering a changing room causes it was a necessary evil.  Jem detests nappy changes and lying on his back, it takes a minimum of 2 people to change a nappy if you want to avoid excrement spreadage…

Of course because of the curse of the poonami this isn’t any old poo…

…oh no…

This is a Turkish shopping centre poonami which has exploded all the way up the front (front!?) of the nappy and all over said white dungarees.

We change baby, he’s still cute, it’s fine.  As it happens I didn’t realise that my mother in law bleaches her laundry so white dungarees are returned to me stain free.

A few days later we are visiting distant family, it’s a big occasion so I decide to attempt the white shorts again.  The Turk and I negotiate a successful stinky nappy removal (no sign of poonami, well to be fair it wouldn’t be that inconvenient would it so why would it be a poonami) and feel particularly proud…

However, before we can renappy the boy something happens which hasn’t happened since Jem was tiny, he wees…

It misses the carpet…

It misses the walls…

But it doesn’t miss his white dungarees…

*sigh* cue outfit change once again.

 

I might steer clear of white dungarees in future…

 

Post-script:

I would love to show you a pic of him in the dungarees…but we don’t have one…

I'm very nosy and I'd love to know what you think?

