Stair-gate, confession of an unprepared mummy

Standard

Ahha, I know what the parents among you are going to think:

stairs + crawling baby = stairgate

Obviously!!!

Well, yes…but no.  You see we have 4 flights of stairs so stairgates are a bit of a contentious issue in our house.  Stairgates are expensive, and apparently you’re supposed to have them top and bottom of the stairs, that’s 8 gates, at £20 each minimum.  Hmmm…

8 gates x £20 + unpaid maternity leave + overrunning building work = never going to happen

Now I like shopping as much as the next person but stairgates just aren’t something I can get excited about buying, and given our current financial position the Turk nearly passed out when I suggested such an expense in Kiddiecare.  I’ve scoured eBay, Gumtree and Freecycle all to no avail.  However Jem is possibly the most inquisitive person I’ve ever met so something must be done.  At the top of the stairs to our bedroom I’ve cunningly constructed a barricade of handbags (something I can get excited about shopping for).  At the stairs down to our kitchen I’ve tried teaching him to go down the stairs as it’s only a few…this isn’t really working but he has started getting to the top of the stairs and screaming rather than simply plunging down them head first (this is in my eyes a success).

I couldn’t really understand the point of having a stairgate at the bottom of our main staircase, after all, he’s 10 months old therefore couldn’t possibly make it up high enough to create a danger.

Wrong.

Having removed all danger from our lounge and engineered a baby proof barricade to the fire I decided to nip upstairs to bring down a dry bib.  The nursery (home of the dry bibs) is up 2 flights of stairs, but no great distance, I’m speedy, however when I returned to the main stairs I was met with a dilemma…

The menace had climbed the stairs…

Not right up to the top where I could have grabbed him…

But around halfway up.

That’s fine surely?  I’ve seen him, I’m there, I’ll just run down and grab him.  Unfortunately my delightful son was so excited to see me as I moved towards him he expressed this but lifting his head up to smile at me and leaning back…and back…every step I got closer to him…EEK!

Before you call the Health Visitor, you can relax, I told you I was speedy and luckily I managed to run behind him and scoop him up before he overbalanced…phew.

Anyway, long story short, if you see any stairgates on offer let me know!

I'm very nosy and I'd love to know what you think?

